Udemy Logo

Udemy, founded in May 2010, is an American online learning platform aimed at professional adults and students. As of January 2020, the platform has more than 50 million students and 57,000 instructors teaching courses in over 65 languages. There have been over 295 million course enrollments. Students and instructors come from 190+ countries and 2/3 of the students are located outside of the U.S.

Students take courses largely as a means of improving job-related skills. Some courses generate credit toward technical certification. Udemy has made a special effort to attract corporate trainers seeking to create coursework for employees of their company. As of 2020, there are more than 150,000 courses on the website.

The headquarters of Udemy is located in San Francisco, CA with satellite offices in Denver, CO; Dublin, IE; Ankara, TR; Sao Paulo, BR; and Gurgaon, IN.

Website: https://udemy.com

Contact

support@udemy.com

San Francisco

3.2
3.2 rating
3.2 out of 5 stars (based on 131 reviews)
Excellent34%
Very good20%
Average11%
Poor4%
Terrible31%

Best website for E-Learning

5.0 rating
July 29, 2020

I learn Machine Learning and Data Science on Udemy.com. Udemy provides courses at affordable prices. I think Udemy is really doing a great job by providing Education at cheap rates.

Asi

No questions asked refund when I wasn’t happy with a course

5.0 rating
July 20, 2020

I chose a course about Kotlin coroutines as the material I found online was not helping me understand the subject in depth.
The first course I chose was not right for me because I am not an English native speaker and I was struggling a bit with the accent of the teacher. Nothing to criticise about what was said in the only lesson I watched rather than the problem I had with it as non native speaker.
I found another course on the same subject for the same price, and the video I could preview was much easier for me to understand.
While it was not possible to directly swap the course, I was fully refunded within 20 minutes and I could purchase the other one

Dan

Everything was great except…

4.0 rating
July 20, 2020

Everything was great except for the fact that their pricing is not transparent. They’re always having a 95% off which is a little bit confusing

Harry

Check your credit card payments.

1.0 rating
July 8, 2020

I subscribed to Udemy Master Photography Course, the course was discounted from $199 to around $18, I was also prompted to subscribed to the night photo course for just £10 more, for a total of around £24 (GBP). Paid with my credit card and started the course. After 4 weeks, I couldn’t access the course, thought it was strange so reached out to Udemy CS and they told me that my payment was blocked, i checked withe bank and credit card company but the payment was made and received by Udemy on the day of payment 4 weeks ago. I complained to Udemy but they ask to prove that payment was made, so i went back to my bank to find out that Udemy was trying to claim monthly payments through a recurring payment request which the bank did block. The course was paid in full, all be it discounted, up front and hence Udemy shouldn’t require any additional payment. Beware. Check your credit card payments.

vincent murphy

Worse course

1.0 rating
July 8, 2020

Worse course you could do, specially in coding or data science. Youtube tutorials has been flooded with adds from this company trying to lure people into their courses. Don’t be fooled.

Truth Teller

Little quality control and poor pricing structure

2.0 rating
July 8, 2020

Some of the courses are excellent value for money, but you have to be very careful as some are incredibly basic. As an example, I took a course that claimed to be a “complete” web development course. The reality is that it was a somewhat decent introductory course, but was missing so much that to claim to be “complete” is grossly overstating things. Nothing at all on front or back end frameworks, nothing on build tools, no mention even of version control! That said, when the courses cost in the region of £10 – 15, even the basic ones are not too bad for complete beginners. My biggest gripe with the platform however is the pricing. On occasion I see courses in the range of £10 – 15, only to then see the price go up to £199.99 once I’ve signed into my account, ready to buy the course. Typically, if you wait, there’ll be a period during which the price will come down, and you may be able to get the course for around £10 – 20. But I find this is an incredibly poor way to treat longstanding customers and because of this I cannot recommend the platform.

Alex Henderson

Very Useful Resources

5.0 rating
July 8, 2020

During the Covid-19 situation, I have purchased several Udemy courses and have found them to be incredibly educational and valuable.
They offer a vast amount of content, so it can be hard to find what is right for you but the course previews are really helpful to enable you to check the course you are looking at is right for you, before you purchase it.
A great online resource.

Rob

Incredible shady pricing and discounting – they will penalise you for repeat custom

2.0 rating
July 8, 2020

The courses are very good but pricing practices are terribly shady and they penalise existing customers for their custom. I added a course to my Wishlist that was list price £34.99 – it seemed reasonable for a 3 hour course. After it being in my Wishlist I was informed that it was on special offer with 94% off but when I went to check the list price had changed to £199.99 – for a 3 hour course! Their pricing structure means absolutely nothing. If I am not logged in to my Udemy account I see £199.99 courses for £34.99. When I contacted Udemy to ask what was going on I was told that they run promotions – however if they just make up prices then promotions are of little consequence.
Whatever you do do not put stuff on your Wishlist and think twice about giving them repeat custom – they obviously don’t reward it with anything but an expectation that they can fleece you.

Max W

Long history of learning with these guys

4.0 rating
July 7, 2020

So, hm. Yeah, of course there are some junk courses on Udemy. But all and all it’s been a complete blessing. I’ve spent over $2,000 over the last 10 years on $10 Udemy courses. That’s less than the cost on a single college class at RIT, which luckily the Army paid for 🙂
In MBA school they didn’t teach us the important stuff to run a business. Stuff like Linux, LLC formation, profit and loss statements, risk evaluations, taxes, investment or intellectual property.
All that I learned on Udemy. Pick your courses well, anyways you can refund junk ones, and go to town. $10 is nothing to learn some of the crazy helpful things I’ve learned on their platform. Highly recommended.
Pro tip: Check out Chris Haroun. That guys is a God send.

Michael

Decent platform to learn fundamentals…

5.0 rating
July 7, 2020

Decent platform to learn fundamentals in programming languages but only when they have discounts

Ted