Skillshare_logo

Skillshare (stylized as SKILLSHARE) is an American online learning community for people who want to learn from educational videos. The courses, which are not accredited, are available through subscription. The majority of courses focus on interaction rather than lecturing, with the primary goal of learning by completing a project. The main course categories are creative arts, design, entrepreneurship, lifestyle, technology, and many more subtopics.

Skillshare launched 15 self paced, online courses in August 2012, with students collaborating to complete a project. By November 2013, it hosted over 250 courses, and launched its School of Design.

Skillshare collaborated with Levi’s to launch the School of MakeOurMark in October 2013, focusing on individual creativity with courses in photography, tattooing, and various forms of illustration.

In June 2018, the company launched Skillshare Originals, a collection of courses produced by Skillshare’s in-house team.

Website: https://www.skillshare.com

Contact

help@skillshare.com

35 E 21st St, Fl 510010, New York, United States

2
2.0 rating
2 out of 5 stars (based on 69 reviews)
Excellent16%
Very good3%
Average10%
Poor4%
Terrible67%

Highly unprofessional – refused a refund

1.0 rating
January 7, 2021

Highly unprofessional. I signed up for a free trial, thinking that I would be charged month by month, not by the year (my mistake) and was charged at the end of my 7 day trial on December 24th for the full year. They did not send me an email to tell me the trial had ended and they were going to start charging me. Then, of course I was on Christmas holidays so when I saw the charge and contacted them to cancel on Monday 4th of January, apparently I was outside of their 7 days timeframe for a refund, even though it was only 4 working days and over the Christmas break. Terrible service, and unbelievable they can just keep my money. This is highly unprofessional and I will be doing everything I can to get my money back for a service I do not want.

Laura Day

Skillshare is a scam

1.0 rating
January 2, 2021

Skillshare renewed a membership and charged me in full without any notice or authorization. I asked for cancellation and a refund WITHIN 24 HOURS of their charge, and crickets. Nothing, no refund, no acknowledgement at all. This “company” is just a pack of grifters, using both “teachers” and consumers to steal money from people’s accounts. DO NOT SIGN UP FOR THEM EVER! Edited to add: Interesting how some foreigner comes up with a five star review to counter the many, many one star reviews about customer service. They’re all from outside the United States, even though Skillshare is based in the US. Hmmm…I suspect these are fake reviews. Skillshare is a notorious scam. End of.

Nora

Really bad experience

1.0 rating
December 31, 2020

Really bad experience. Would not recommend. Didnt wait for trial period to end before cancelling subscription.

Consumer

Great customer service.

5.0 rating
December 30, 2020

I used skillshare’s premium 3 month free trial, I cancelled it and was told that I could carry on using until date of renewal and I had forgotten about it since. That is until on the 28th December 2020 I saw a charge for skillshare premium on my bank statement. I contacted customer services and within an hour a lady called Chrissy had emailed me back. I asked for a refund due to having cancelled my account and the pandemic having made earning a wage much much more difficult than previously. Chrissy had resolved the issue and had authorised the refund, I can’t even begin to express how helpful she was in resolving the matter. If I was her boss, she would definitely be getting a raise!

Rebbeca

Skillshare are Scammers

1.0 rating
December 30, 2020

Skillshare follows many others who offer a free trial and then start charging you. You agree and then “forget” and then they have the right to start charging you. I believe this is scam. If you try to dispute it, they claim they informed you. I started a trial and found this out, I forgot and was charged (no problem, my fault), I canceled and I know I canceled at the time but received another email that they charged me again the next month. Got angry and tried to appeal to Skillshare and Paypal, both denied me saying I did not cancel. I could not find the email saying I did cancel. Bottom line, there should be a mechanism in place that allows you to cancel after they take out the payment if you haven’t used their program/site, for those that “forget”, given time. They are charging for “non usage”. To me, this is stealing and scamming. They also purposely make it very hard to find the link to cancel your subscription.

Larry Gerow

Complete scam

1.0 rating
December 28, 2020

Complete scam. I signed up for a free trial and cancelled my subscription. They charged me 80 anyway. I cancelled it again, the next year they charged me another 80. They just take you card info and charge you anually anyway. I tried to get a refund, and they took over a week to reply before telling me I couldn’t get a refund after the first week.

Bryce O’Connor

Scammy

1.0 rating
December 27, 2020

Tried to cancel my account. They offered to extend my trial. No reminder or notice they would charge me for a year. No refund. Not even able to switch to monthly billing. Poor customer service. Unethical business practices.

Shannon

SkillShare.com Review

5.0 rating
December 23, 2020

Excellent up-to-date material, informative short lectures on a
Particular topic.
Easy to follow pace and the ability to do in-video quizzes make it an
Excellent learning tool. I recommend this website highly to learners
Of all ages.
SkillShare has helped me get initiated into a lot of technologies in
Big-data. Apart from that it has helped me keep abreast with the
Basic concepts and fundamentals of computer programming.

Valerie R.

Shocking

1.0 rating
December 22, 2020

Shocking. Couldn’t log in to cancel my subscription, tried for days . They took the subscription cost and wouldn’t refund. Will never use again

Fp

Signed up for the 14 day FREE trial

1.0 rating
December 15, 2020

Signed up for the 14 day FREE trial. Got immediately charged $60.The form said, FREE trial until 14 days then the card would be charged. Liars..

Jordan Thieme