Skillshare_logo

Skillshare (stylized as SKILLSHARE) is an American online learning community for people who want to learn from educational videos. The courses, which are not accredited, are available through subscription. The majority of courses focus on interaction rather than lecturing, with the primary goal of learning by completing a project. The main course categories are creative arts, design, entrepreneurship, lifestyle, technology, and many more subtopics.

Skillshare launched 15 self paced, online courses in August 2012, with students collaborating to complete a project. By November 2013, it hosted over 250 courses, and launched its School of Design.

Skillshare collaborated with Levi’s to launch the School of MakeOurMark in October 2013, focusing on individual creativity with courses in photography, tattooing, and various forms of illustration.

In June 2018, the company launched Skillshare Originals, a collection of courses produced by Skillshare’s in-house team.

Website: https://www.skillshare.com

Contact

help@skillshare.com

35 E 21st St, Fl 510010, New York, United States

2
2.0 rating
2 out of 5 stars (based on 72 reviews)
Excellent15%
Very good4%
Average10%
Poor7%
Terrible64%

No response from Customer Service about

1.0 rating
January 9, 2021

No response from Customer Service about my refund request.The billing part of their website is designed with Dark Pattern – which makes it way harder to cancel their service, and the canceling was confusing. So I thought I cancel before free trail ends but it didn’t. And it charged me membership for 4 months with $80CAD in total. Be careful – not recommend to try their product at all

daisychei

Beware of your free trial

1.0 rating
January 8, 2021

Beware of your free trialI initially went for the free trial and had 2 premium months free. A few months in and i’ve just recently had 84 taken from my account without being given a reminder in my emails. I thought I was paying for a monthly subscription but they seemed to of changed it to annually out of convenience. I don’t think it’s worth your money, nor do I believe them to be trustworthy. There’s better ways to learn skills.

Mac

Rubbish company

1.0 rating
January 8, 2021

Rubbish company, they were sending me hundreds of junk emails and because of that the email saying my trial is about to end got completely lost in them. I messaged them on the same day Ive been charged for the premium membership asking for a refund and they refused to refund me the money. Ive never even used skillshare! Theyll do everything to just trick you to get you money. Lame lame lame

Lili Lil

Highly unprofessional – refused a refund

1.0 rating
January 7, 2021

Highly unprofessional. I signed up for a free trial, thinking that I would be charged month by month, not by the year (my mistake) and was charged at the end of my 7 day trial on December 24th for the full year. They did not send me an email to tell me the trial had ended and they were going to start charging me. Then, of course I was on Christmas holidays so when I saw the charge and contacted them to cancel on Monday 4th of January, apparently I was outside of their 7 days timeframe for a refund, even though it was only 4 working days and over the Christmas break. Terrible service, and unbelievable they can just keep my money. This is highly unprofessional and I will be doing everything I can to get my money back for a service I do not want.

Laura Day

Skillshare is a scam

1.0 rating
January 2, 2021

Skillshare renewed a membership and charged me in full without any notice or authorization. I asked for cancellation and a refund WITHIN 24 HOURS of their charge, and crickets. Nothing, no refund, no acknowledgement at all. This “company” is just a pack of grifters, using both “teachers” and consumers to steal money from people’s accounts. DO NOT SIGN UP FOR THEM EVER! Edited to add: Interesting how some foreigner comes up with a five star review to counter the many, many one star reviews about customer service. They’re all from outside the United States, even though Skillshare is based in the US. Hmmm…I suspect these are fake reviews. Skillshare is a notorious scam. End of.

Nora

Really bad experience

1.0 rating
December 31, 2020

Really bad experience. Would not recommend. Didnt wait for trial period to end before cancelling subscription.

Consumer

Great customer service.

5.0 rating
December 30, 2020

I used skillshare’s premium 3 month free trial, I cancelled it and was told that I could carry on using until date of renewal and I had forgotten about it since. That is until on the 28th December 2020 I saw a charge for skillshare premium on my bank statement. I contacted customer services and within an hour a lady called Chrissy had emailed me back. I asked for a refund due to having cancelled my account and the pandemic having made earning a wage much much more difficult than previously. Chrissy had resolved the issue and had authorised the refund, I can’t even begin to express how helpful she was in resolving the matter. If I was her boss, she would definitely be getting a raise!

Rebbeca

Skillshare are Scammers

1.0 rating
December 30, 2020

Skillshare follows many others who offer a free trial and then start charging you. You agree and then “forget” and then they have the right to start charging you. I believe this is scam. If you try to dispute it, they claim they informed you. I started a trial and found this out, I forgot and was charged (no problem, my fault), I canceled and I know I canceled at the time but received another email that they charged me again the next month. Got angry and tried to appeal to Skillshare and Paypal, both denied me saying I did not cancel. I could not find the email saying I did cancel. Bottom line, there should be a mechanism in place that allows you to cancel after they take out the payment if you haven’t used their program/site, for those that “forget”, given time. They are charging for “non usage”. To me, this is stealing and scamming. They also purposely make it very hard to find the link to cancel your subscription.

Larry Gerow

Complete scam

1.0 rating
December 28, 2020

Complete scam. I signed up for a free trial and cancelled my subscription. They charged me 80 anyway. I cancelled it again, the next year they charged me another 80. They just take you card info and charge you anually anyway. I tried to get a refund, and they took over a week to reply before telling me I couldn’t get a refund after the first week.

Bryce O’Connor

Scammy

1.0 rating
December 27, 2020

Tried to cancel my account. They offered to extend my trial. No reminder or notice they would charge me for a year. No refund. Not even able to switch to monthly billing. Poor customer service. Unethical business practices.

Shannon