Skillshare_logo

Skillshare (stylized as SKILLSHARE) is an American online learning community for people who want to learn from educational videos. The courses, which are not accredited, are available through subscription. The majority of courses focus on interaction rather than lecturing, with the primary goal of learning by completing a project. The main course categories are creative arts, design, entrepreneurship, lifestyle, technology, and many more subtopics.

Skillshare launched 15 self paced, online courses in August 2012, with students collaborating to complete a project. By November 2013, it hosted over 250 courses, and launched its School of Design.

Skillshare collaborated with Levi’s to launch the School of MakeOurMark in October 2013, focusing on individual creativity with courses in photography, tattooing, and various forms of illustration.

In June 2018, the company launched Skillshare Originals, a collection of courses produced by Skillshare’s in-house team.

Website: https://www.skillshare.com

Contact

[email protected]lshare.com

35 E 21st St, Fl 510010, New York, United States

2.1
2.1 rating
2.1 out of 5 stars (based on 78 reviews)
Excellent17%
Very good5%
Average9%
Poor9%
Terrible60%

Not Worth the Money

2.0 rating
July 6, 2022

I signed up during the lockdowns and it was probably worth the $99 at the time since I was stuck in the house. I used for a while but then life got busy again. I forgot I had it for a few months, then I changed banks. And Thank God I did! Tonight I went to log in and my account has been suspended. If I hadn’t changed banks and forgot the account, they would have auto-charged me…$167.88 for a year of service. Really? $167? I went to find a discount code, and every code I tried said I couldn’t use it because I wasn’t a “new” member. Okay, then you don’t get any of my money. Almost anything you can find on Skillshare you can find on Youtube, for free. $99 was pretty reasonable, but $167 is robbery. I had it for about 2 years, and in that time I think I used it a dozen times, if that, and not at all since mid-end of 2021. I’m so grateful I forgot to renew and it slipped my mind. At least now they can’t auto over-charge me for something I used sporadically. Skip this overpriced service and use the free ones. You’ll thank yourself later.

Christy S.

Great Project and Structured Curriculum

5.0 rating
July 6, 2022

I really enjoyed having very helpful feedbacks on all of the projects
Provided in the designing courses.
I recommend anyone willing to upgrade their skillset or determined
To switch careers to try out the designing programs. The community
Is very supportive and the projects are challenging
I have a better understanding of new designs and continue to learn
Every day. The biggest benefit is being able to have the confidence to
Tackle new challenges using the material I learned.

Reginia C.

Best investment in myself

5.0 rating
June 8, 2022

I truly feel like this was one of the best investments in myself as a continual learner. I love the variety of classes for just about anything I want to learn without being confined to just one area of study. It’s an amazing resource and I have had positive things to say about every teacher I’ve learned from, most recently digital drawing. The information has been usable and valuable.

SukLar R.

Wisdоm is а mixture of experiencе, сourаgе and intelligеnce

1.0 rating
March 23, 2022

We tеnd to think of great thinkers and innоvаtors аs solоists, but the truth is that the greatest innоvative thinking doеsn’t occur in a vаcuum. Innоvatiоn rеsults from collаboration.

Frenchmxjf

Hidden features unknown to the free users.

5.0 rating
January 5, 2022

Before making the first payment you may rethink your purchase decision multiple times but once you try out the Premium features, you’ll be glad that you decided to go with it. You may as well be more than satisfied. It is not about the content taught, sure that is an integral aspect, but what makes Skillshare unique is the community of learners and the awesome teachers, who are celebrities in their trade, this is by far the best reason to sign up for Skillshare Premium.

Erick L.

Best professional class online

4.0 rating
December 1, 2021

The classes are made by real professionals in a very actionnable way. I couldn’t have start as a pattern designer without it!
My only reserve will be for a friend who doesn’t speak English.

Ashley R.

Poor customer service

2.0 rating
July 14, 2021

Verified purchase




I signed up for a trial of SkillShare because of a creator they had. The course wasn’t great, but that’s ok. I didn’t cancel my trial in time. I had some issues with my account that they were seemingly very happy to help me with at the onset until it came time to actually solve my problem. The service was all sizzle, no steak. They were unwilling to help with a request that is pretty commonly accepted with all saas. They don’t seem to value their customers, which is crazy in this day and age with so many options. ()/


Tip for consumers:If you try this site out and don’t like it, cancel days before the trial ends. They have a strict no-refund policy.







Service





Value





Returns







Quality

Kevin H.

Amazing platform to learn

4.0 rating
April 28, 2021

Cons:
Could use more teachers from different backgrounds; there’s plenty offered but could use more subjects/topics to study. I recommend someone look through and hand select more topics/genres that Skillshare could gain. Maybe like Languages if not already included.
Pros:
Great information for a small price and direct contact option with the creators/teachers
Lots of topic to choose from (computer science, music composition, illustration, writing; those are the things I studied 🙂

Rochelle H.

Premium account deactivated for no reason!

2.0 rating
April 28, 2021

Guys, I like the classes on skill share but what the hell, my account has been deactivated and there has been no further contact from the support team other than the initial contact. I mean I like going through the classes here and as far my knowledge I haven’t done anything outrageous. I checked credit info and it’s alright. What you guys take money from willing customers and butcher them too? The classes are really good, I miss them.









Service





Value





Returns







Quality





































Share




Helpful (0)

Anwesh P.

A waste of money

2.0 rating
April 21, 2021

I expected serious or professional quality material, but instead found the classes I sampled to merely be YouTube level videos. As if some random jackass posts an IPhone video of themself making a cake. Geez, wholly unprofessional!












Share




Helpful (0)

Donker W.