Coursera is a world-wide online learning platform founded in 2012 by Stanford computer science professors Andrew Ng and Daphne Koller that offers massive open online courses (MOOC), specializations, and degrees.
Coursera works with universities and other organizations to offer online courses, specializations, and degrees in a variety of subjects, such as engineering, data science, machine learning, mathematics, business, computer science, digital marketing, humanities, medicine, biology, social sciences, and others.

Website: https://www.coursera.org

Contact:

Mountain View, California, U.S.

2.7
2.7 rating
2.7 out of 5 stars (based on 48 reviews)
Excellent23%
Very good17%
Average8%
Poor12%
Terrible40%

In this pandemic economic downturn

1.0 rating
October 30, 2020

In this pandemic economic downturn, I signed up with Coursera, supposedly in collaboration with the State Workforce… but now beginning to think it was fraud. I’m not invested financially, but also cannot find a way to unenroll, even having followed the instructions to do so. Afraid I am going to get charged, either by Coursera or the State, for not completing, but neither the State or Coursera has a contact about which to discuss this!

RRuffner

Terrible Platform, Support, and a Mediocre Course

1.0 rating
July 29, 2020

The course which is a specialization in SEO is completely outdated. They are using content from 2013, most of the tools displayed for measuring different aspects of technical SEO have changed or don’t exist. Coursera is charging a monthly subscription way higher than any other online learning platform.
There are few students to grade assignments, so grades take longer than expected to get back. Most of the times the feedback given by other students is absolutely terrible, and irrelevant to instructions. Seems like they didn’t take the same course you did.
Support is also bad, they have one standard way of doing things and are incapable of helping you in a particular case.
At the end I did receive a course certification, which I am ashamed to even add to Linkedin, because although it may say “completed SEO specialization” it really means “wasted his/her time”.
I highly recommend to do better research on online courses and stay away from Coursera.

George

Coursera Experience

5.0 rating
July 29, 2020

I really like that Coursera is constantly updating their program courses, learning paths, and features. The team works diligently to put out quality material that learners will enjoy. The Coursera team is always eager to learn how they can improve learning features for our students. Most importantly, the Google Cloud Platform feature enables our students to master their skills in cloud computing which is highly beneficial to both the learner and the organization. Variety is also very important for learning, therefore, being that Coursera offers specializations, individual courses, Mastertrack certificates, and degrees is fantastic! They also offer some free courses which are always a plus for a new learner or someone looking for learning opportunities.

Truchard

Course ratings are probably fake

1.0 rating
July 20, 2020

I can’t rate my courses, so the ratings are probably fake. Also i can’t find a contact (email or script) to ask them about it.

Robin Beckmann

Good service

5.0 rating
July 20, 2020

I really like Coursera courses, it’s just a great way to learn new skills without leaving your home. I see that many people here complain about the subscription model, but if you read the rules, you would see that the trial should be canceled by YOU, or you will be billed.

Pedro Valentín

Terrible customer service and certificate missing

1.0 rating
July 20, 2020

Paid for a certificate and passed with Honors, but it was never given to me as such. Apparently there has been a problem for seven months regarding this situation and nobody is fixing it. DONT take this courses. Or don’t pay for them.

Kiara

A lot of free courses

4.0 rating
July 7, 2020

A lot of free courses. I’ve enlisted for a few free courses and they are pretty interesting. I haven’t tried the premium subscription yet but I like the idea of letting people use basic course materials for free.

Dilan

Best experience with MOOCs

5.0 rating
July 7, 2020

I used Coursera to complete three courses. All courses on the website are created by universities. Coursera never asked me for my card details and I was never charged for anything, except when I chose to purchase certificates after completing my MOOCs. I was not charged for any subscriptions, or anything other than the three certificates I bought.
The website and app are easy to use. I never had any issues finding a course or completing one. There are discussion boards to ask questions and interact with the professors of your courses.
I’ve been using several sites to help build my CV and Coursera is by far the best. Everything is genuine and created by institutions you can trust, and you don’t have to pay for anything. It was easy to learn from Coursera, and I’m much more knowledgeable in the field I am trying to start a career in as a result.

Shannon