Codecademy Logo

Codecademy is an online interactive platform that offers free coding classes in 12 different programming languages including Python (pandas-Python library, Beautiful Soup-Python Library), Java, Go, JavaScript (jQuery, AngularJS, React.js), Ruby (Ruby on Rails-Ruby framework), SQL, C++, Swift, and Sass, as well as markup languages HTML and CSS. The site also offers a paid “Pro” option that gives users access to personalized learning plans, quizzes, and realistic projects.

Codecademy was founded in August 2011 by Zach Sims and Ryan Bubinski. Sims dropped out of Columbia University to focus on launching a venture, and Bubinski graduated from Columbia in 2011.

The platform also provides courses for learning command line and Git. In September 2015, Codecademy, in partnership with Periscope, added a series of courses designed to teach SQL, the predominant programming language for database queries. In October 2015, Codecademy created a new course, a class on Java programming. As of January 2014, the site had over 24 million users who had completed over 100 million exercises. The site has received positive reviews from the New York Times and TechCrunch. As part of the Computer Science Education Week held in December 2013, Codecademy launched its first iOS app called “Hour of Code”. The app focuses on the basics of programming, including the same content from the website. In April 2019, Codecademy partnered with Adafruit for a course on electronics and hardware programming. In December 2019, Codecademy launched a new course on Swift, a language developed by Apple Inc. for iOS, watchOS, macOS, tvOS, and more.

Website: www.codecademy.com

Contact

575 Broadway Floor 510012, New York City, United States

3.6
3.6 rating
3.6 out of 5 stars (based on 45 reviews)
Excellent44%
Very good16%
Average11%
Poor11%
Terrible18%

Codeacademy offers an interesting course covering major themes of coding.

4.0 rating
July 20, 2020

Codeacademy offers an interesting course covering major themes of coding. this provides coders with an easy access to coding.

Bernhard Vischer

I love the courses

5.0 rating
July 20, 2020

I love the courses, I may still in the very beginning but from what I have been reading and doing I know that in time I will become a successful programmer/developer from Codecademy.

Codecademy Learner

This has been the best program for me

4.0 rating
July 20, 2020

This has been the best program for me to learn from, better than other programs and online college course as well, very easy to understand and follow, I have referred several friends to Codecademy and helped get one of them the free pro membership using the special email promotional and he loves it and it is now helping him as well.

Codecademy Learner

Pro user not satisfied with course content.

2.0 rating
July 20, 2020

Pro user not satisfied with course content.
While the built-in code editor is nice and the scope of applicable projects SEEMS nice (will address later), the current course I am on (Python 3) often has incomplete explanations on pages for course exercises, leaving users confused, unmotivated, and raises barriers to learning that don’t need to be there.
These issues are often discussed in the forum from other users. Many times, these threads are YEARS old… This means that nobody has taken the time to address the user issues with course content…
The price I paid for a yearlong pro account would be more than enough to cover the cost of a simple content audit from that feedback.
Addressing the prior note on other projects seeming nice – I cannot start them, as the Python 3 course I’m on is a prerequisite. I am bottlenecked in a course with content issues that have been pending updates for YEARS. The amount of times I have needed to google answers is ridiculous for a paid service….
If this was a free course it would be great, as it matches the caliber of other free offerings available online.
But to pay the hefty price of a pro account for this? Not good. I cancelled my pro account and would not recommend anybody pay for Codecademy to learn Python 3.
If you want to pay to learn Python 3, get a highly rated used book, and check Stack Overflow for everything in between. This way you save money, have complete course content with theoretical backing, and context to what you’re learning.

Codecademy Pro User

Enjoying Coding

4.0 rating
July 7, 2020

I was drawn to the Codeacademy website from the very beginning.It was simple with an attractive and welcoming layout.The lessons are organized in step by step, manageable chunks that are fun and they use real life examples so you understand the applications.There are some bugs in the platform but they are few and far between.There are loads of projects and practice exercises that make it easy to grasp each concept.You get alot of support in all forms:FAQs,forums,peer- reviewing,walk-through videos and even helpful hints as you go along with the steps of an exercise.I like the regular quizzes because they help me keep track of my problem areas. Codeacademy was a splendid find and it has been a wonderful learning adventure for me. I am definitely sticking with it.

Learner