Codecademy Logo

Codecademy is an online interactive platform that offers free coding classes in 12 different programming languages including Python (pandas-Python library, Beautiful Soup-Python Library), Java, Go, JavaScript (jQuery, AngularJS, React.js), Ruby (Ruby on Rails-Ruby framework), SQL, C++, Swift, and Sass, as well as markup languages HTML and CSS. The site also offers a paid “Pro” option that gives users access to personalized learning plans, quizzes, and realistic projects.

Codecademy was founded in August 2011 by Zach Sims and Ryan Bubinski. Sims dropped out of Columbia University to focus on launching a venture, and Bubinski graduated from Columbia in 2011.

The platform also provides courses for learning command line and Git. In September 2015, Codecademy, in partnership with Periscope, added a series of courses designed to teach SQL, the predominant programming language for database queries. In October 2015, Codecademy created a new course, a class on Java programming. As of January 2014, the site had over 24 million users who had completed over 100 million exercises. The site has received positive reviews from the New York Times and TechCrunch. As part of the Computer Science Education Week held in December 2013, Codecademy launched its first iOS app called “Hour of Code”. The app focuses on the basics of programming, including the same content from the website. In April 2019, Codecademy partnered with Adafruit for a course on electronics and hardware programming. In December 2019, Codecademy launched a new course on Swift, a language developed by Apple Inc. for iOS, watchOS, macOS, tvOS, and more.

Website: www.codecademy.com

Contact

575 Broadway Floor 510012, New York City, United States

3.6
3.6 rating
3.6 out of 5 stars (based on 45 reviews)
Excellent44%
Very good16%
Average11%
Poor11%
Terrible18%

Charged by a different card on Paypal

5.0 rating
November 29, 2020

I had multiple cards on Paypal, the one i had with CodeCademy did not have enough funds for the the annual membership after the trial was over. Paypal then decided to charge my main card for the 95 pounds which i didn’t even know was a thing they could do. The money on my main card was for Christmas presents. PayPal did not give me a refund for this so I was getting stressed out as it is a lot of money. I emailed Codecademy with my issue and they have refunded the purchase! I cannot even explain how relieved I am. They might have just saved Christmas for me! I will definitely be buying the annual pass for real this time after the holidays are over! You guys are great and once again I cannot thank you enough for the refund!!

Rihards Steindals

Be careful with payments

1.0 rating
November 25, 2020

Be careful with payments! Most subscriptions send you multiple emails to warn you about a renewal – I missed out the single email they sent and was charged for a new annual subscription. After a search online it seems that most refund requests get ignored.

Y L L

Finally…..perfect tool.

5.0 rating
November 10, 2020

Finally, I found the perfect programming learning tool for me. It’s clean and so effective. Thanks to the developers for such a good thing.

Kyaw Min Thant Sai

Taking a class and learning something new is typically…

5.0 rating
November 5, 2020

Taking a class and learning something new is typically a boring process and while many people have tried to make educational games in the past, very few companies have truly succeeded in this market. Wouldn’t it be great to learn to learn a new skill by playing a game? codecademy.com is making learning how to code into a gaming experience and from the nearly 100K users they have signed up, they are doing a great job. If you are looking to learn javascript, I highly recommend checking it out. Makes me think of rosetta stone for the coding world.

Rod G.

Perfect site to learn programming basics and some elementary…

4.0 rating
November 5, 2020

Perfect site to learn programming basics and some elementary coding, but they need to work on the content some. I wouldn’t have launched this site until I had built up a good deal more content than it now has, but it is a good site. Easy to find my way around on it. Looks good.

Marcus D.

I stumbled across this site sometime ago

5.0 rating
November 5, 2020

I stumbled across this site sometime ago. As a professional developer I didn’t have much need for it but liked what they were trying to do. I have recommended it several times to others who have asked how to get started. If nothing else it will give them a feel for programming.
Recently my son became interested in learning how to program and so I had him read a little then pointed him to codecademy.com. He is so excited he let me know last night that he had completed his fourth lesson on the JavaScript track. He turns 12 this month and is starting to program, the same age I started at when my parents brought home a TI99/4a.

Aaron M.

Totally awesome site

5.0 rating
November 5, 2020

Totally awesome site. It helped so much. Very user friendly.

Jonah P.

Excellent Computer Programming Resource

4.0 rating
November 5, 2020

A great online resource, Check it out if you want to learn programming. Free information, cant beat it

James P.

A fairly good start.

4.0 rating
November 5, 2020

Codecademy is not a replacement for formal education, but it can be a great start for hobbyists or those looking to dip their toes in. I was surprised with how well their courses work. Had a few issues and know a few people that did not like how it worked, but it worked for me and I found the direction to be helpful and engaging. Certainly a great start for a beginner.

Samuel P.

Interesting concept, not well executed, and poor service even for paying customer.

2.0 rating
November 5, 2020

I should say the design of the site is pretty user-friendly. However, the contend is poorly written — full of typos and repeating sentences, etc. — to the point that it confuses the reader. That is pretty bad for beginners who wish to learn coding. And even for paying customers, who theoretically can ask personalized questions, never get respond to any questions asked. So maybe you can try the free version, but it’s not worth paying for it. It’s not like there are no high quality (even free) alternatives available.

David K.