Codecademy is an online interactive platform that offers free coding classes in 12 different programming languages including Python (pandas-Python library, Beautiful Soup-Python Library), Java, Go, JavaScript (jQuery, AngularJS, React.js), Ruby (Ruby on Rails-Ruby framework), SQL, C++, Swift, and Sass, as well as markup languages HTML and CSS. The site also offers a paid “Pro” option that gives users access to personalized learning plans, quizzes, and realistic projects.

Codecademy was founded in August 2011 by Zach Sims and Ryan Bubinski. Sims dropped out of Columbia University to focus on launching a venture, and Bubinski graduated from Columbia in 2011.

The platform also provides courses for learning command line and Git. In September 2015, Codecademy, in partnership with Periscope, added a series of courses designed to teach SQL, the predominant programming language for database queries. In October 2015, Codecademy created a new course, a class on Java programming. As of January 2014, the site had over 24 million users who had completed over 100 million exercises. The site has received positive reviews from the New York Times and TechCrunch. As part of the Computer Science Education Week held in December 2013, Codecademy launched its first iOS app called “Hour of Code”. The app focuses on the basics of programming, including the same content from the website. In April 2019, Codecademy partnered with Adafruit for a course on electronics and hardware programming. In December 2019, Codecademy launched a new course on Swift, a language developed by Apple Inc. for iOS, watchOS, macOS, tvOS, and more.

Website: www.codecademy.com

Contact

575 Broadway Floor 510012, New York City, United States

3.5
3.5 rating
3.5 out of 5 stars (based on 50 reviews)
Excellent42%
Very good14%
Average12%
Poor14%
Terrible18%

The material itself is good

1.0 rating
January 18, 2021

The material itself is good, but the service is dearly lacking. I signed up for code academy in the summer, and got into a coding bootcamp later on so I decided to put my account on a 3month pause. I completely forgot about this pause and come December, I noticed a charge from them. I went into my account and noticed they’ve been charging me for months. My pause did not register for them. So I contacted them and their only solution was to stop charging me from here on. They mentioned they don’t have a refund policy. So now I’m 5 months in paying them $40 a month for a product I did not use. If there was any un-pause, you would think they’ll send an email reminder, but I guess in this business they bank on you forgetting about it. That’s how they make their money.

Barbara Jackson Kuofie

I loved the way your platform is

4.0 rating
January 10, 2021

I loved the way your platform is sorted, I think it is very good for beginners that want to get introduced to computer science!

Enyce

I am fairly new to coding and after a

1.0 rating
December 30, 2020

I am fairly new to coding and after a few steps asking to do this and that, i literally still know nothing. At no point does it explain WHY each step needs to be done, nor does it show you what goes wrong if you miss it out, it really is a bad website, they really need to explain things better, i dont recommend it.

Robert Hartley

Codecademy review

2.0 rating
December 18, 2020

The service itself was great at first and I signed up when looking into a new career. However, a year later, having changed jobs and taken a huge pay cut, its just automatically renewed without a single reminder email. Almost 200 for something I no longer need, thats apparently non refundable, and that made no effort to send a reminder feels really shady. Yes I should have remembered, but every other service I subscribe to emails me to remind me, I thought this was just good practice? Really upset with this, and having taken a 25k pay cut just before Christmas to pursue a career change I really cant afford this. It all feels very cynical and exploitative on the part of a company I thought was pretty trustworthy.

Hannah Lvg

Since they back some courses i been

5.0 rating
December 6, 2020

Since they back some courses i been there again…it was really good site and now is even better..i never paid them anything but …

Milos

Charged by a different card on Paypal

5.0 rating
November 29, 2020

I had multiple cards on Paypal, the one i had with CodeCademy did not have enough funds for the the annual membership after the trial was over. Paypal then decided to charge my main card for the 95 pounds which i didn’t even know was a thing they could do. The money on my main card was for Christmas presents. PayPal did not give me a refund for this so I was getting stressed out as it is a lot of money. I emailed Codecademy with my issue and they have refunded the purchase! I cannot even explain how relieved I am. They might have just saved Christmas for me! I will definitely be buying the annual pass for real this time after the holidays are over! You guys are great and once again I cannot thank you enough for the refund!!

Rihards Steindals

Be careful with payments

1.0 rating
November 25, 2020

Be careful with payments! Most subscriptions send you multiple emails to warn you about a renewal – I missed out the single email they sent and was charged for a new annual subscription. After a search online it seems that most refund requests get ignored.

Y L L

Finally…..perfect tool.

5.0 rating
November 10, 2020

Finally, I found the perfect programming learning tool for me. It’s clean and so effective. Thanks to the developers for such a good thing.

Kyaw Min Thant Sai

Taking a class and learning something new is typically…

5.0 rating
November 5, 2020

Taking a class and learning something new is typically a boring process and while many people have tried to make educational games in the past, very few companies have truly succeeded in this market. Wouldn’t it be great to learn to learn a new skill by playing a game? codecademy.com is making learning how to code into a gaming experience and from the nearly 100K users they have signed up, they are doing a great job. If you are looking to learn javascript, I highly recommend checking it out. Makes me think of rosetta stone for the coding world.

Rod G.

Perfect site to learn programming basics and some elementary…

4.0 rating
November 5, 2020

Perfect site to learn programming basics and some elementary coding, but they need to work on the content some. I wouldn’t have launched this site until I had built up a good deal more content than it now has, but it is a good site. Easy to find my way around on it. Looks good.

Marcus D.