Codecademy Logo

Codecademy is an online interactive platform that offers free coding classes in 12 different programming languages including Python (pandas-Python library, Beautiful Soup-Python Library), Java, Go, JavaScript (jQuery, AngularJS, React.js), Ruby (Ruby on Rails-Ruby framework), SQL, C++, Swift, and Sass, as well as markup languages HTML and CSS. The site also offers a paid “Pro” option that gives users access to personalized learning plans, quizzes, and realistic projects.

Codecademy was founded in August 2011 by Zach Sims and Ryan Bubinski. Sims dropped out of Columbia University to focus on launching a venture, and Bubinski graduated from Columbia in 2011.

The platform also provides courses for learning command line and Git. In September 2015, Codecademy, in partnership with Periscope, added a series of courses designed to teach SQL, the predominant programming language for database queries. In October 2015, Codecademy created a new course, a class on Java programming. As of January 2014, the site had over 24 million users who had completed over 100 million exercises. The site has received positive reviews from the New York Times and TechCrunch. As part of the Computer Science Education Week held in December 2013, Codecademy launched its first iOS app called “Hour of Code”. The app focuses on the basics of programming, including the same content from the website. In April 2019, Codecademy partnered with Adafruit for a course on electronics and hardware programming. In December 2019, Codecademy launched a new course on Swift, a language developed by Apple Inc. for iOS, watchOS, macOS, tvOS, and more.

Website: www.codecademy.com

Contact

575 Broadway Floor 510012, New York City, United States

3.6
3.6 rating
3.6 out of 5 stars (based on 45 reviews)
Excellent44%
Very good16%
Average11%
Poor11%
Terrible18%

A lovely website to begin web programming

5.0 rating
February 20, 2021

Codecademy – A lovely website to begin web programming!!!

chris J.

Best site!

5.0 rating
February 20, 2021

I love codecademy!!!! Best!!!!

Aziz h.

Amateurish instruction

2.0 rating
January 24, 2021

I have been using Codecademy for a few months. They have a very text-based lesson plan that quickly turns to providing the user solutions to problems rather than teaching. There are giant holes in what the beginner will learn and what they will be expected to know. Terms, functions, methods are often left out of the lesson discussion, yet appear in the projects. This is a theme for many other coding places. I assume most of the content is made by amateurs and that is the result you can expect for yourself as you progress through the pathways. The forums seem to be fed by “volunteers” that for some reason have hours of free time, indicating that they are probably propped up by Codecademy as employees to blow smoke and positivity at the paying customers. That would be great if the content was equally relevant, coherent, and useful. Unfortunately, that is not the case. Maybe it is a good place to start but do not pay full price and get ready to take your money elsewhere if you would like to make any practical coding advancements.

Nicholas Fry

Very difficult to get in touch with

1.0 rating
January 23, 2021

Very difficult to get in touch with them They tried to take my money but luckily I didnt have enough credit and theyve been declined. They renewed my trial without asking or remember that to me although they bombarded me with emails Horrible experience

Giada Combusti

Codecademy.com

5.0 rating
January 20, 2021

better then nothing

anastasia a.

The material itself is good

1.0 rating
January 18, 2021

The material itself is good, but the service is dearly lacking. I signed up for code academy in the summer, and got into a coding bootcamp later on so I decided to put my account on a 3month pause. I completely forgot about this pause and come December, I noticed a charge from them. I went into my account and noticed they’ve been charging me for months. My pause did not register for them. So I contacted them and their only solution was to stop charging me from here on. They mentioned they don’t have a refund policy. So now I’m 5 months in paying them $40 a month for a product I did not use. If there was any un-pause, you would think they’ll send an email reminder, but I guess in this business they bank on you forgetting about it. That’s how they make their money.

Barbara Jackson Kuofie

I loved the way your platform is

4.0 rating
January 10, 2021

I loved the way your platform is sorted, I think it is very good for beginners that want to get introduced to computer science!

Enyce

I am fairly new to coding and after a

1.0 rating
December 30, 2020

I am fairly new to coding and after a few steps asking to do this and that, i literally still know nothing. At no point does it explain WHY each step needs to be done, nor does it show you what goes wrong if you miss it out, it really is a bad website, they really need to explain things better, i dont recommend it.

Robert Hartley

Codecademy review

2.0 rating
December 18, 2020

The service itself was great at first and I signed up when looking into a new career. However, a year later, having changed jobs and taken a huge pay cut, its just automatically renewed without a single reminder email. Almost 200 for something I no longer need, thats apparently non refundable, and that made no effort to send a reminder feels really shady. Yes I should have remembered, but every other service I subscribe to emails me to remind me, I thought this was just good practice? Really upset with this, and having taken a 25k pay cut just before Christmas to pursue a career change I really cant afford this. It all feels very cynical and exploitative on the part of a company I thought was pretty trustworthy.

Hannah Lvg

Since they back some courses i been

5.0 rating
December 6, 2020

Since they back some courses i been there again…it was really good site and now is even better..i never paid them anything but …

Milos